USI logo
University of Southern Indiana
USI Home
google search
Sydney L. & Sadelle Berger
Faculty Community Service Award
The Berger Community Service Award recognizes a University faculty member for distinguished community service to groups, agencies, and institutions external to the University of Southern Indiana.

The award was established in 1996 by Charles L. and Leslie Berger in honor of his parents, Sydney & Sadelle Berger.

2005 Dr. Kathleen M. Elpers
Social Work
For her involvement in the social work community and exposing her students to the value of community involvement through community organizations.
2004 Dr. Michael L. Slavkin

For his dedicated efforts to improve educational opportunities for young people and to prevent juvenile arson.
2003 Marjorie Jones

For her efforts in protection, preservation, interpretation, and study of archaeological and historic sites.
2002 Dr. Abbas Foroughi
Computer Information Systems

For his community service benefiting young people through the Rotary Club Education Committee and the Public Education Foundation.
2001 Dr. Jeff W. Seyler

For his promotion of chemistry as a local science fair judge, as a guest teacher in the local schools and scout troops, and as an area business consultant.
2000 Dr. Munir Quddus

For his contributions to the Evansville business community and to his native country of Bangladesh.
1999 Dr. Marwan A. Wafa
Decision Sciences

For improving the understanding and interaction among religious groups in the Evansville area.
1998 Dr. Marie G. Hankins

For her "wonders of chemistry" demonstrations to children and adults.
1997 Dr. Charles J. Bertram

For establishing the Eagle Math program for second and third grade students in Vanderburgh County.

USI Home | Academics | Calendar | Athletics | Visitors | Events and News | Administration

8600 University Boulevard - Evansville, IN 47712-3596 - 812-464-8600

Copyright © 2018 University of Southern Indiana. All rights reserved.