University of Southern Indiana
Indiana Physiological Society

Student directors:  Audrey Bickel, Jenny Koch, Elizabeth Behrens, Carynn Koch, Jarod Richards, Christian Duncheon

Indiana Physiological Society President:  Randall Roper

Keynote speakers:  Dr. Joey Barnett and Dr. Derek Leishman

Introduction of Speakers:
Dr. Linda Bennett & Dr. Steve Becker

Derron Bishop, Robert Yost, Bonnie Blazer-Yost, Susan McDowell, Randall Roper, Mike Sturek, Noah Gordon

Morning – Jarod Richards – USI Undergraduate
Afternoon – Kevin Spellman – IUSM-Evansville
—Breakout Session Leaders:
Carynn Koch, Evan Niemeier, Alex Clayton, Stephanie Flaig, Brent Summers
Dr. Mike Sturek, Dr. Dave Hopper, Dr. Zachary Neeb, Dr. Derek Leishman, Ms. Shannon Leishman
Dr. Patricia (Pat) Clark
USI Pott College of Science, Engineering, and Education
USI Conference & Food Services
Local High School Teachers - thanks for dedicating a Saturday to bring your students!


  • Keynote speakers 
    Dr. Joey Barnett, Vanderbilt School of Medicine
    Professor of Pharmacology, Medicine, Pediatrics, and Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology. He received his Bachelor’s Degree in 1981 from the University of Southern Indiana in Biology.
    Presentation:  Atypical TGFβ signaling: Surprising Roles in Embryos and Adults

    Dr. Derek Leishman, Senior Research Fellow Lilly Research Laboratories - Global Lead for Safety Pharmacology and Head of the Diabetes and Cardiovascular group. PhD in Pharmacology completed in Aberdeen, Scotland.
    Presentation: Physiology and predicting whether a new drug will work and be safe: 18th Century logic and 21st Century technology

  • Opportunity to present your research--meeting includes both oral and poster sessions.  Abstracts due February 7 --see Abstract Submission

  • Three break-out sessions to choose from:

    • Physiology classroom activities appropriate for high school and undergraduate classrooms will be demonstrated.  Consider sharing your ideas - submit an abstract!  Classroom Activity Submission.

    • Preparing to major in Science:  a panel discussion designed for high school students to interact with a panel of undergraduate, graduate, and medical students.

    • Career building and networking an excellent opportunity for college students to learn more about careers and network with representatives from academia and industry across Indiana.
  • Congratulations to the following award winners:

    TRAVEL AWARD:  Stacy Dineen - IU School of Medicine
    Exenatide specifically enhances Ca2+ buffering by SERCE in coronary smooth muscle cells from lean, healthy Ossabaw swine.
    ORAL PRESENTATION:  Yi-Chun Chen - IU School of Medicine
    Mitogen-inducible gene 6 haploinsufficiency protects mice against streptozotocin-induced diabetes

    Reyan Coskun - International School of Indiana
    Elucidating the Neurochemical Circuits Mediating a Novel, GABAergic Model of Hot Flash Vulnerability
    Andrew Lutkewitte - IU School of Medicine
    An emerging link between the negative EGFR feedback regulator Mig6 and hepatic glucose production
    Emily Weigand - Ball State University
    Mitochondrial distribution and dynamics during natrually-occurring syapse loss.



Contact Mari Hopper
Send Email to