Campus Photo Campus Photo Campus Photo Campus Photo Campus Photo
Employment OpportunitiesEmployeeBenefitsCompensationResourcesPoliciesContact
Benefits
Health Reform Changes
Flexible Spending Account Benefit Changes
Health Savings Account Maximum Changes
 

Welcome to USI's Benefits Website!

Looking for our medical plans? Click here for the Comparison Overview. You can find further details on each plan by visiting: Anthem Buy-Up, Anthem Core, and Anthem Lumenos CDHP/HSA.

For information on USI's other benefits, see the links on the left.

Proposed Retirement Benefit Changes: On March 6, 2014, recommendations of the Benefit Study Group were approved by the Board of Trustees. Changes take effective July 1, 2014.

Family Sick Policy Change

As of September 1, 2013, covered family members also include grandchildren and grandparents.

Health Reform Changes

Since 2011, all University Health Plans incorporated required and voluntary Health Reform changes including: (1) coverage for enrollees’ children to age 26, even if the young adult no longer lives with his or her parents, is not a dependent on a parent’s tax return, or is no longer a student, or is married; (2) no pre-existing condition exclusions for children under age 19; (3) no lifetime maximum benefit; (4) 100% coverage for preventative care for federally designated services.

Effective January 1, 2013, the University amended its Flexible Benefit Plan (under Section 125) that allows for flexible spending accounts for health expenses to lower the maximum annual contribution to $2,500, as required by the Affordable Care Act. Also in 2013, the University’s medical plan information for each Anthem plan is provided in the new format required by the Affordable Care Act. Called the Summary of Benefit Coverage (SBC), this common format will be especially helpful to those who compare medical coverage options between two spouse’s employers.

In 2014, the University's medical plans no longer have a pre-existing condition exclusion as required by the Affordable Care Act.

Flexible Spending Account Benefit Change

Effective January 1, 2013, the maximum annual contribution to a Flexible Spending Account for health expenses is lowered to $2,500 as required by the Affordable Care Act. Flexible Spending Accounts for dependent care expenses are unchanged and still have an annual maximum of $5,000.

Since January 1, 2011, the cost of over-the-counter medicines are not reimbursable through your Flexible Spending Account for medical expenses unless the medicine is prescribed by a physician. Some exceptions, like insulin, apply.

Changes to Health Savings Account Maximums

Effective in 2014, per IRS guidelines, Health Savings Account maximums increase to $3,300 for individuals and $6,550 for family coverage.  

 




Open Enrollment Dates

TIAA-CREF Representative

Lori Matthews of TIAA-CREF will hold individual appointments in the HR Training Room on the below dates. To schedule an appointment, contact 800/732-8353. 

2014 Dates

  • Wednesday, Jan 22
  • Tuesday, Feb 18
  • Thursday, Feb 20
  • Wednesday, Mar 19
  • Tuesday, Apr 15
  • Thursday, Apr 17
  • Wednesday, May 14
  • Tuesday, June 17
  • Thursday, June 19
  • Wednesday, July 23
  • Tuesday, Aug 19
  • Thursday, Aug 21
  • Wednesday, Sep 24
  • Tuesday, Oct 21
  • Thursday, Oct 23
  • Wednesday, Nov 19
  • Tuesday, Dec 9
  • Thursday, Dec 11