University Communications

Faculty and Staff Achievements

Dr. Perry Burnett and Dr. Curtis R. Price's paper (co-authored with T.H. Kuethe): “Consumer preference for locally grown produce: an analysis of willingness-to-pay and geographic scale,” Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems and Community Development 2(1):269-278. (2011) was cited in the following USDA Report to the U.S. Congress:

Dr. Serah Theuri, assistant professor of Food and Nutrition, was the recipient of the Center for Applied Research and Economic Development Faculty, Outreach and Engagement Summer 2015 Fellowship Award.

Dr. Kevin Valadares, associate professor in Health Services, was a recipient of the USI Historic New Harmony Outreach and Engagement 2014-2015 Fellowship Award.

Teresa Branson, instructor in Teacher Education, was a recipient of the USI Historic New Harmony Outreach and Engagement 2014-2015 Fellowship Award.

Dr. Stephanie Young, assistant professor of Communication Studies received the USI Foundation Outstanding Teaching by New Faculty Award.

Dr. Timothy Schibik, assistant dean of Romain College of Business, had an article published in the International Journal of Data Analysis Techniques and Strategies. The article, “Do Tuition Increases Lower Academic Performance,” was co-authored by Dr. Sudesh Mujumdar,Charles Harrington and Dan Friesner.

Dr. Glenna Bower,chair of Kinesiology and Sport Department, was one of 18 women named to the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 2015 Silver Anniversary Team, based on outstanding accomplishments as a senior basketball player 25 years ago.

Lee Ann Shafer, academic program manager and bachelor of general studies advisor at the University of Southern Indiana is a finalist for the ATHENA award. ATHENA International is a nonprofit organization that supports, develops and honors women leaders. 

Congratulations to Jill Oeding, assistant professor of business law, and Jamie Seitz, instructor of accounting for their forthcoming publication “Is it Ethical for the U.S. Government to Offer Financial Awards to Potential Whistleblowers of Financial Statement Fraud and Internal Control Violations,” which has been accepted for publication in The Journal of Theoretical Accounting Research.

Dr. Tracy Kinner, clinical assistant professor of nursing, was selected for the 2014 Melissa Faye and John M. Lawrence Excellence in Teaching Award. The award is selected by the senior class and given to a member of the undergraduate faculty who demonstrates a commitment to nursing education. The award is given by John M. Lawrence ’73, a generous benefactor of the CNHP.

Dr. Gina Schaar, assistant professor of nursing, received the 2014 College of Nursing and Health Professions (CNHP) Excellence in Teaching Award. This honor was established to identify faculty members who have contributed significantly to the quality of teaching in the CNHP. It recognizes and encourages outstanding teaching.

Heather Schmuck, clinical assistant professor of Radiologic and Imaging Sciences, is the first recipient of the John M. Lawrence ’73 Health Professions Faculty Member Award. The award is named in honor of John M. Lawrence ’73, a generous benefactor of the College of Nursing and Health Professions, who had previously established an annual award for nursing faculty. His new award honors faculty in other programs in the health professions.

Dr. Ann White, dean of the College of Nursing and Health Professions, was selected for the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Wharton Executive Leadership Program. Launched in 2012 in collaboration with the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania, this world-class enrichment experience is designed exclusively for top academic leaders in schools of nursing.

Dr. Colleen Walsh has been named president-elect of the National Association of Orthopaedic Nursing (NAON). She is currently on the Executive Board Officers, serving as secretary for 2014-2015. She is a contract assistant professor of nursing.

Dr. Mikel Hand and C. Elizabeth (Beth) Bonham presented at Sigma Theta Tau’s International Nursing Research Conference in Hong Kong in July 2014. Dr. Bonham co-presented with former USI nursing faculty Dr. Maria Shirey. Their topic was “Engaging Interprofessional Colleagues in a Collaborative Community of Faculty Scholars.” Dr. Hand’s presentation was titled, “Post Mortem Nursing Care Effectiveness as Perceived by U.S. Hospital Staff Nurses.”

Susan Seibert, clinical assistant Professor of Nursing and DNP student, presented her capstone project, “Educating DEU Staff Nurses in the Art of Clinical Instruction,” at the 2014 International Nurse Educator conference in the Netherlands, June 23-25, 2014. She also presented on an innovative student activity, “Quality Improvement Across the Curriculum: The Plan-Do- Study-Act Model in a BSN Program,” developed with Dr. Mellisa Hall. Seibert is also the recipient of the Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) Nurses Society Rising Star in Nursing Poster Award. Her poster, “Curriculum for Educating Dedicated Education Unit Nurses,” was displayed at the STTI Leadership Connection 2014 program in Indianapolis.

Marketing and University Communications staff were recognized with awards from CASE:

The Pride of CASE (Council for Advancement and Support of Education) V Awards Program honors institutions and individuals who demonstrate outstanding achievement in the concept and execution of advancement programs and communications throughout District V, which encompasses Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio and Wisconsin. This year, the awards program generated 453 entries from 78 institutions.

The University of Southern Indiana was selected for two awards:

*Gold Award for excellence for USI Magazine Spring 2014 Entrepreneurs Three-Feature Series

USI Magazine editor Connie Stambush authored two of the feature articles and media relations specialist and USI magazine contributor Wendy Bredhold penned the third article.

New to the awards program were the Platinum Categories which recognize the “best of the best” programs and practices in educational advancement and communications:

*Teresa Du Bois Exline Award for Best Practices in Communications and Marketing recognizes exemplary programs, projects and initiatives in communications and marketing that serve as models for other institutions, provide a successful solution to overcoming challenges, reflect strategic use of resources, achieve significant results and/or utilize innovative practices.

USI was awarded the bronze for our branding evolution effort and was in the company of Indiana University, Illinois State University and Northwestern.  USI bested the University of Michigan for their branding and visual identity entry, which took honorable mention.  









University of Southern Indiana
8600 University Boulevard
Evansville, Indiana 47712 Phone 812/464-8600
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn RSS Feeds More Social Media

USI Contact Form

Sending To: Web Services

USI Email Form

Sending To: