University of Southern Indiana
Sunday, February 01, 2015
8600 University Blvd., Evansville, IN 47712 | (812) 465-7050 | Contact Us | rss feed

NIS Home Page

News & Publications

Press Release Archive USI Today USI Magazine Newsletters USI Bulletin 2009-2011


Awards Editor's Manual Emergency Procedures Experts Guide Photography Services Speakers Bureau

Contact Us

Staff Our Services Send News Tip

About USI

Campus Calendar Campus Map Campus Profile Virtual Tour

About Evansville

Chamber of Commerce of Southwestern Indiana City of Evansville Evansville Convention & Visitors Bureau Images of Southwestern Indiana


Search Archive:
Last six months | Annual archives

Friday, July 15, 2011

Trustees set fees for two academic years

Contact for more information:
Kathy Funke
Director, News & Information Services
Tuition and fees for the next two academic years were set today by the University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees at its regular meeting. Indiana undergraduate residents will pay just over $252 more in fees for the 2011-2012 academic year and $293 more in 2012-2013.

The credit hour fee was approved at $193.07 for Indiana resident undergraduate students for 2011-2012. It will change to $202.83 for Indiana resident undergraduate students in the next year.

Required by state law, a public hearing about the planned increase in tuition and fees for USI students was held on May 23, 2011. "The USI Board of Trustees is committed to providing affordable, quality higher education and has a history of maintaining an affordable fee structure," said President Linda L. M. Bennett at the hearing. "USI is the most affordable baccalaureate-degree granting institution in Indiana." There was no public response to the increases at that time.

The trustees also approved the 2011-2012 operating budget of $93.7 million. More than 54 percent of the budget is from state appropriations and 42 percent is from student fees, with three percent from other income. The budget will fund instruction and instruction-related costs, student services, and general administration and maintenance.

At the trustees' annual meeting, Ted C. Ziemer Jr. of Evansville was elected board chairman. Appointed to the board in July 2007, Ziemer has served as a member of the Long-Range Planning Committee and as a member and chair of the Finance/Audit Committee. He has represented the trustees on the USI/New Harmony Board of Directors (now the Advisory Board) since 2008.

As chairman, he replaces John Dunn of Evansville who has served on the Board of Trustees since 2006. Dunn was appointed chair in 2007. Under his chairmanship, the University appointed Linda L. M. Bennett as president upon the retirement of H. Ray Hoops. The trustees approved a resolution of appreciation to Dunn and applauded him for his dedicated service to the board and to the University.

Ziemer also has a strong record of service to the USI Foundation. Since 1976 he has been on the Board of Directors for the USI Foundation, which he chaired for six years.

New student trustee Susan Ellsperman attended the meeting. Recently appointed to the board by Governor Mitch Daniels, Ellsperman is a biology major with an emphasis in pre-medicine. She is from Newburgh, Indiana, and will graduate in May 2013. She is captain of the women's soccer team and attends USI on the Harold W. Ashley Endowed Presidential Scholarship. With a 4.0 GPA, she was named to the 2010 soccer 1st team All-Great Lakes Valley Conference, 1st team All-Region, and 1st team Academic All-Region. She is the daughter of Michael and Melody Ellsperman of Newburgh.

Vice chairs for the year are W. Harold Calloway and Jeffrey L. Knight, both of Evansville.

USI Home | Academics | Calendar | Athletics | Visitors | Events and News | Administration

8600 University Boulevard - Evansville, IN 47712-3596 - 812/464-8600

USICopyright © 2015 University of Southern Indiana. All rights reserved.