University of Southern Indiana
Sunday, February 01, 2015
8600 University Blvd., Evansville, IN 47712 | (812) 465-7050 | Contact Us | rss feed

NIS Home Page

News & Publications

Press Release Archive USI Today USI Magazine Newsletters USI Bulletin 2009-2011


Awards Editor's Manual Emergency Procedures Experts Guide Photography Services Speakers Bureau

Contact Us

Staff Our Services Send News Tip

About USI

Campus Calendar Campus Map Campus Profile Virtual Tour

About Evansville

Chamber of Commerce of Southwestern Indiana City of Evansville Evansville Convention & Visitors Bureau Images of Southwestern Indiana


Search Archive:
Last six months | Annual archives

Monday, November 07, 2011

Nominate your advisor for Outstanding Advising Award

Contact for more information:
Sarah Harlan
Administrative Associate
News & Information Services
The Faculty Awards for Service, Teaching, and Research Committee is now taking nominations for the 2011-2012 Outstanding Academic Advising Awards. Up to five awards of $1,000 may be granted each year.

Students and colleagues may nominate an individual. To nominate, fill out the nomination form and submit a one-page letter indicating why the advisor deserves recognition.

Nominators should provide a first-person account of why the nominee is deserving of the award and discuss the following criteria for outstanding academic advisors:

- Strong interpersonal skills
- Availability to advisees, faculty, or staff
- Frequency of contact with advisees
- Appropriate referral activity
- Use and dissemination of appropriate information sources
- Caring, helpful attitude toward advisees, faculty, and staff
- Monitoring of student progress toward academic and career goals
- Mastery of institutional regulations, policies, and procedures

All full-time faculty and professional advising staff are eligible. Nomination forms are available in each college office, the Office of Academic Affairs (WA 104), or at The deadline for nominations is Friday, December 2.

Last year's USI Outstanding Advisor Awards went to Dr. Jeanne Barnett, Dr. Glenna Bower, Dr. Mary Hallock Morris, Dr. Susanna Hoeness-Krupsaw, and Beth Otto.

USI Home | Academics | Calendar | Athletics | Visitors | Events and News | Administration

8600 University Boulevard - Evansville, IN 47712-3596 - 812/464-8600

USICopyright © 2015 University of Southern Indiana. All rights reserved.