University of Southern Indiana


Nestled on the banks of the Wabash River in southwestern Indiana, Historic New Harmony is home to New Harmony Theatre (NHT). Now in its third decade, NHT operates under an Actors' Equity Association LORT contract. NHT is produced by the University of Southern Indiana.

Past productions include Amadeus, The Importance of Being Earnest, I Do! I Do!, Othello, Crimes of the Heart, My Fair Lady, The Crucible, Much Ado About Nothing, A Midsummer Night's Dream, The Glass Menagerie, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum, Orpheus Descending, Our Town, She Loves Me, Death of A Salesman, Anna Christie, Private Lives, Dames at Sea, and The Cherry Orchard.

Actors who have performed at New Harmony Theatre include Joy Franz, Ken Jennings, Polly Holliday,  Tanny McDonald, Eileen Ward, Susan Derry, Chris Kipiniak, Anne Pitoniak, Joan Shepard, Evan Thompson, Christianne Tisdale, Kirsti Carnahan, Louis Zorich, Jane Bodle, and Jenn Thompson.

NHT conducts a national search for theatre professionals. Casting occurs in New York, Los Angeles, the Southeastern Theatre Conference, and regionally. Designers and technicians are hired chiefly in New York, Chicago, through national conferences, and distinguished colleges.

Cities close to Evansville


Louisville: 115 miles east
Nashville: 155 miles south
St. Louis: 170 miles west
Indianapolis: 185 miles north
Chicago: 340 miles north