University of Southern Indiana
Know the Law

If you are under 21 and...

  • Alcohol magically appears in your hand
    It is a class C Misdemeanor to possess or consume an alcohol beverage under the age of 21.
  • You try to buy alcohol at a store
    It is a class C Misdemeanor.
  • You use a Fake ID
    It is a class C Misdemeanor and your driver's license could be suspended.
  • You visit a local bar or tavern
    It is a class C Misdemeanor. 

If you...

  • Buy or provide alcohol to a minor
    It is a class B Misdemeanor.
    It is a class D Felony if it ends up killing or seriously injuring someone.
  • Are drunk in public
    It is a class B Misdemeanor to be intoxicated in a public place.
  • Drive a motor vehicle while drunk
    It is a class C Misdemeanor.
    If it causes someone injury, it is a class A Misdemeanor or class D Felony.
    If it causes a death, it is a class C Felony.
    Your driver's license may be suspended.

Possible Penalties

  • Class C Misdemeanor = Up to 60 days in jail and up to a $500 fine
  • Class B Misdemeanor = Up to 180 days in jail and up to a $1000 fine
  • Class A Misdemeanor = Up to one year in jail and up to a $5000 fine
  • Class D Felony = Six months to three years in jail and up to a $10,000 fine
  • Class C Felony = Two to eight years in jail and up to a $10,000 fine

Felony convictions may affect the rest of your life. You may be unable to receive financial aid for school, you may be prohibited from some professions, and many employers are not willing to hire you.


  • © 2014 University of Southern Indiana
  • 8600 University Blvd.
  • Evansville, IN 47712
  • 812-464-8600
Contact Web Services
×
Send Email to
×