Michael Waters Poetry Prize

2014 Prize Winners

Dennis Henrichsen

Dennis Hinrichsen is the author of six books of poetry.  His most recent are Rip-tooth (2010 Tampa Poetry Prize) and Kurosawa's Dog (2008 FIELD Poetry Prize). An earlier work, Detail from The Garden of Earthly Delights, was awarded the 1999 Akron Poetry Prize.  New work of his can be found in Basalt, Hunger Mountain, Memorious, the museum of americana, Sou'wester, as well as the anthology Poetry in Michigan/Michigan in Poetry from New Issues Press.  He lives in Lansing, Michigan.

Hannah Notess

Hannah Faith Notess is the author of Ghost House, a chapbook of poems (Floating Bridge Press, 2013) and editor of Jesus Girls: True Tales of Growing Up Female and Evangelical (Cascade Books, 2009). She earned an MFA from Indiana University, and her poems have appeared in Rattle, Slate, Los Angeles Review, and Image, among other journals. She is the managing editor of Seattle Pacific University's Response magazine and lives in Seattle with her family.

2013 Prize Winner

Doug Ramspeck

Doug Ramspeck is the author of four poetry collections. His most recent book, Mechanical Fireflies (2011), received the Barrow Street Press Poetry Prize. His first book, Black Tupelo Country (BkMk Press, 2008), received the John Ciardi Prize for Poetry. His poems have appeared in journals that include Slate, The Kenyon Review, The Georgia Review, Alaska Quarterly Review, and AGNI. He is the recipient of an Ohio Arts Council Individual Excellence Award. Ramspeck teaches creative writing and directs the Writing Center at The Ohio State University at Lima.

Ramspeck's Prize-winning collection, Original Bodies, is available for pre-order here at a special discounted price. In addition, each pre-order purchase will include a free copy of the spring '14 issue of Southern Indiana Review.


Michael Waters

Michael Waters has written ten books of poetry, including Gospel Night (2011); Darling Vulgarity, a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize (2006); and Parthenopi: New and Selected Poems, finalist for the Paterson Poetry Prize (2001). His poems have appeared in various journals, including The Yale Review, The Paris Review, The Kenyon Review, Poetry, The Georgia Review, and Rolling Stone. Among his awards are fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Fulbright Foundation and fellowship residencies at Yaddo, MacDowell, The Tyrone Guthrie Center (Ireland), Le Chateau de Lavigny (Switzerland), and The St. James Centre for Creativity (Malta). He is professor of English at Monmouth University and also teaches in the Drew University MFA Program in Poetry and Poetry in Translation. Waters lives with his wife, poet Mihaela Moscaliuc, in Ocean, New Jersey.

SIR Press Editors

Marcus Wicker

Marcus Wicker is the author of Maybe the Saddest Thing (Harper Perennial), selected by D.A. Powell for the National Poetry Series. He holds an MFA in creative writing from Indiana University. Wicker’s awards include a 2011 Ruth Lilly Fellowship, as well as fellowships from Cave Canem, and The Fine Arts Work Center. A 2012 Image Award Nominee and Poets & Writers Debut Poet, Wicker’s work has appeared or is forthcoming in Poetry, American Poetry Review, Third Coast, and Ninth Letter, among other magazines. Marcus is an assistant professor of English at the University of Southern Indiana and poetry editor of Southern Indiana Review.

Ron Mitchell

Formerly muscle for the IRS, Ron Mitchell is the editor of Southern Indiana Review and founder and former editor of RopeWalk Press. He teaches creative writing and literary editing & publishing at the University of Southern Indiana.