University of Southern Indiana

Employee Relations Committee

Employee Picnic

What does this committee do?

The mandate for this committee, as stated in the by-laws is that it "shall address the appropriate matters and other concerns of the Staff Council".

  • At the July retreat shall elect a Chair of the committee.
  • The Chair must schedule all meetings for the year. The committee will meet once per month.
  • The Chair of the committee will present an end of year report to include all events to the Staff Council Chair.

This committee is responsible for organizing the annual picnic for all USI employees. The picnic is usually held in early June.

The committee also organized and is still sponsoring a giving tree program for employees, students, and USI community families that need a little extra assistance during the Christmas holiday.

Other projects include:

  • coordinating and organizing "Family Time with the Eagles", consisting of admission to a Men's and Women's basketball game (and other surprises) for employees
  • coordinating Staff Council Adopt-A-Spot
  • coordinating and organizing food drives with for Archibald's Food Closet
  • fostering the staff interdenominational Bible Study Group
  • coordinating the Student Worker Appreciation Day project during the spring semester

Did You Know?

The first Employee Picnic was held on Friday, June 17, 1994. There was a box to collect donations for Archie’s Food Closet. 467 tickets were issued to employees to attend the picnic which served grilled hamburgers and several side dishes. Staff Council later voted that the picnic should be held in spring, starting in 1995.

Did You Know?

The Giving Tree was originally started as an outreach of Student Affairs. While brainstorming at a Student Affairs Retreat, Dr. John Byrd, former vice president for Student Affairs, asked for ideas their division could do for the University community. Donna Moore, Chris Jines & Pam Hopson formed the idea for a giving tree for needy students and/or staff. Student Affairs agreed to purchase four artificial trees to be placed around campus. Staff Council took over this yearly mission in 2001 and created criteria forms of eligibility. There were 34 individual people who received gifts that first year.

Did You Know?

Lois Stevens, Employee Relations committee member, planned the first Adopt-A-Spot for Staff Council which started in May 2002. The location was originally in circle between the old Rice Library and the University Center. Lois put out the word Staff Council needed flowers and a hodgepodge of flowers was planted.

Did You Know?

The Support Staff Employee Recognition Award was created in 2007. During USI’s re-accreditation process, Staff Council representatives Chris Jines, Don Broshears, Terry Martin, Yvonne Floyd, and Sheree Seib, met with evaluator Dr. Joaquin Villegas from the Higher Learning Commission on September 26, 2006. Dr. Villegas informed Staff Council representatives his institution had a recognition award for support staff and suggested the idea to have a similar award at USI. Chris Jines suggested having a “traveling” trophy to recognize a support staff member.

Over the next several months, Chris Jines, Karen Anderson, and Angela Torres met with Donna Evinger, Human Resources Director, to create criteria for the Support Staff Performance Recognition Award. President Hoops provided a $500 monetary award to be presented along with the trophy. The first award was presented at the University’s Support Staff Luncheon in fall 2007 to the recipient Kim Schauss.


 New Logo With Flame

For more information or to become involved, please contact the current Staff Council Chair.

Contact Web Services
Send Email to