University of Southern Indiana
Volunteer Recognition

Volunteers are one of the University of Southern Indiana's greatest assets.

Each fall, a recognition dinner is planned to honor the volunteers who have given at least 20 hours of volunteer service during the prior USI fiscal year. This event recognizes the invaluable contribution of individuals whose volunteer service supports excellence in education, the arts, the community, and USI. Volunteers are recognized for 250, 500, 750, and 1,000 plus total service hours. This event also honors the Volunteer of the Year, Mentor of the Year, and Student Volunteer of the Year.

In 1997, USI began an annual tradition by naming its first Volunteer of the Year. The recognition efforts were expanded to honor the Student Volunteer of the Year and the Mentor of the Year. Faculty, staff, and volunteers may submit nominations for this award. Recipients must be members of Volunteer USI with hours earned through events and activities promoted through or accumulated through a USI program.

Nomination forms are available in the Office of Alumni and Volunteer Services, UCW 116 or can be submitted online by clicking the Nomination link below.

Nominationbutton _03


Click the link to read about each volunteer's personal experiences.


Volunteer Of The Year 3

2013 Volunteer of the Year
Dr. James Dippel

Volunteer Of The Year 2

2013 Mentor of the Year
Kyle Ellis

 Volunteer Of The Year 1

 2013 Student Volunteer of the Year
Breanna Hutchinson

 Yvonne -floyd Photo For Website

2012 Volunteer of the Year
Yvonne Floyd


Donna _mesker

2011 Volunteer of the Year
Donna Mesker '86



2011 Volunteer Inspiration Award
Joanne B. Wright



2010 Volunteer of the Year
Carolyn Ruminer


Dave And Terry

2009 Volunteer of the Year
Bruce and Terri Herrenbruck



2008 Volunteer of the Year
David Herrenbruck



2007 Volunteer of the Year
Larry and Barb Shelton



2007 Volunteer of the Decade
Jack Burgdorf



2006 Volunteer of the Year
Dana Brooke



2005 Volunteer of the Year
Jack Marr



2004 Volunteer of the Year
Mark J. Altstadt


Sandi Lawrence

2004 Volunteer Inspiration Award
Sandi Lawrence



2003 Volunteer of the Year
Patrick J. Goen



2002 Volunteer of the Year
David N. Stevens



2001 Volunteer of the Year
Cindy L. Bippus



2000 Volunteer of the Year
Meredith N. Alcorn



1999 Volunteer of the Year
Mary Lou Howard



1998 Volunteer of the Year
Joseph W. Cannon



1997 Volunteer of the Year
Lloyd D. Jost

  • © 2014 University of Southern Indiana
  • 8600 University Blvd.
  • Evansville, IN 47712
  • 812-464-8600
Contact Web Services
Send Email to