University of Southern Indiana

Standing Committees 2015-16

2015-16 Administrative Senate Standing Committees

Employee Relations and Benefits

Reviews salaries and benefits and makes annual recommendations for changes; works with Human Resources regarding employee concerns and the process to address those concerns; recommends promotion and progression steps; addresses the relationship between administrators and the University as an employer; reviews, studies, and recommends Senate action regarding performance, evaluation, professional leave, and policies and procedures which affect administrators’ ability to function in their positions. 

  Chair Michelle Woodburn
  Vice Chair Brandi Hess
    Tracy Adams
Dave Alexander

Patricia Tieken

    Arlene Fortune
    Paula Nurrenbern
  Liaison Donna Evinger


Professional Development

Addresses efforts to provide and encourage professional growth and development of administrators; assists in developing training for administrative staff specifically during fall and spring meeting activities; reviews, studies, and recommends Senate action regarding such matters as professional leave and continuing education.

  Chair Beth Thompson
  Vice Chair

Joe Binkley

    Paula Nurrenbern
  Keith Powers
    Jared Lauer


Nominations and Elections

Composed of three continuing Senators appointed by the Executive Committee and chaired by the Past Chairperson, manages and oversees the annual elections process for Senators, and for Senate officers.  In addition, the committee shall monitor the number of administrators in each Senate district to ensure adequate and equitable representation.  If it is necessary to reconfigure the composition of districts (in response to university restructuring or other changes in the number of administrators in departments) that duty also shall be carried out by the Elections Committee.

  Chair Susanne Stanley


Events and Outreach

Involves USI’s administrators in university-wide events, projects and committees; develops productive partnerships with university groups such as Faculty Senate, Staff Council and student groups; sponsors events that recognize the service and achievements of administrators at USI. 

  Chair Karen Huseman
  Vice Chair Alex Eaton
    Caylin Blockly
    Sandy Davis

Phyllis Oeth


Patricia Tieken


Administrative Affairs

Formulate policy recommendations, review existing policies, and report recommendations for changes or implementation.

  Chair Cindy Miller
  Vice Chair Don McGrath
    Dan Martens
    Ingrid Lindy


Constitution and Bylaws

Responsible for reviewing the constitution and by-laws of the Senate annually and proposing changes to each based on input from senate membership.

  Chair Deb Butler
  Vice Chair Amy Mullins
    Teresa Grisham
    Sarah Schomaker




Contact Administrative Senate


Send Email to