University of Southern Indiana

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Council


Legislative Charge

The Diversity Committee of the University of Southern Indiana was created in response to House Enrolled Act 1256, authorized by the 2007 Indiana General Assembly (IC-21-27-8-7) which requires that each public institution of higher education create a diversity committee to meet this legislative mandate. This committee is charged to:

  1. Review and recommend faculty employment policies.
  2. Review faculty and administration personnel complaints concerning diversity issues.
  3. Make recommendations to promote and maintain cultural diversity among faculty members.
  4. Make recommendations to promote recruitment and retention of minority students.
  5. Issue an annual report stating the findings, conclusions and recommendations of the committee to the board.

The University’s existing Affirmative Action Committee was adapted to meet the requirements of IC 21-27-8-7.

Committee Objectives

  1. Define the University’s vision of diversity and recommend methods to integrate that vision with existing University policies and procedures
  2. Collect information on University programs and initiatives and community resources
  3. Review University employment policies and processes and recommend improvements intended to increase hiring of diverse candidates
  4. Review University complaint policies and processes concerning diversity issues and recommend improvements
  5. Review University programs and processes, developing recommendations as appropriate for improvements to existing programs and processes and for new programs and initiatives that promote recruitment and retention of diverse students, faculty and staff
  6. Recommend methods that increase awareness of the University’s commitment to diversity
  7. Assess University diversity training and communication needs and make recommendations
  8. Develop methods to assess the University’s diversity efforts
  9. Provide Annual Reports to the University’s Board of Trustees

Council Members

Jessica Adler
Mrs. Jessica Adler
Senior Administrative Associate
Contact: 812-464-1849
Byron C. Wright Administration Building 102

Glenna Bower
Dr. Glenna Bower
Professor of Kinesiology and Sport
Associate Dean of the Pott College of Science, Engineering, and Education
Contact: 812-464-1709
Education Center 1104

Katherine Draughon
Dr. Katherine Draughon
Chief Data Officer
Associate Professor of Sociology
Contact: 812-465-1630
Byron C. Wright Administration Building 104E

John Farless
Mr. John Farless
Director of University Communications
Contact: 812-228-5157
Publishing Services Center

Heidi Gregori-Gahan
Ms. Heidi Gregori-Gahan
Associate Provost Emeritus for International Programs and Services
International Advancement Specialist
University Center East

Jennifer Hammat
Dr. Jennifer Hammat
Dean of Students
Contact: 812-464-1862
University Center East 1232

Christine Hoehn
Ms. Christine Hoehn
Director of Religious Life
Contact: 812-465-7095
Residence Life Service Center

Pamela Hopson
Mrs. Pamela Hopson
Executive Director of Multicultural Center
Adjunct - Academic Skills
Contact: 812-465-7188
University Center East 1246

Sakina Hughes
Dr. Sakina Hughes
Associate Professor of History
Director of Africana Studies Program
Assistant Dean of the College of Liberal Arts
Contact: 812-465-1224
Liberal Arts Center 3009

Janet Johnson
Mrs. Janet Johnson
Director of Alumni Relations and Volunteer USI
Adjunct - Business
Contact: 812-464-1924
University Center West 113

Andrew Lenhardt
Mr. Andrew Lenhardt
Executive Director of Human Resources
Contact: 812-465-7115
Byron C. Wright Administration Building 159

Julie McCullough
Dr. Julie McCullough
Associate Professor of Nutrition
Chair of Food and Nutrition Program
Assistant Dean of Health Professions
Contact: 812-461-5213
Health Professions Center 3048

Gabriela Wilson
Dr. Gabriela Wilson
Contract Associate Professor of Health Informatics
Contact: 812-464-1731
Health Professions Center 3089

Kerseclia Patterson
Mrs. Kerseclia Patterson
SWI-AHEC Academic Outreach Coordinator
Contact: 812-228-5048
Health Professions Center 2095

Tereesha Patterson
Mrs. Tereesha Patterson
Instructor in Accounting
Contact: 812-464-1983
Business and Engineering Center 2083

Kenneth Purcell
Dr. Kenneth Purcell
Associate Professor of Physics
Contact: 812-461-5337
Science Center 2222

Ronda Stone
Mrs. Ronda Stone
Manager of Disability Resources
Contact: 812-464-1961
Science Center 2206

Steven Stump
Mr. Steven Stump
Assistant Director of the Center for Applied Research
Contact: 812-228-5094
University Center East 2258

D'Angelo Taylor
Dr. D'Angelo Taylor
Assistant Director of Multicultural Center
Adjunct - Liberal Arts
Contact: 812-465-7188
University Center East 1248

Aaron Trump
Mr. Aaron Trump
Chief Government and Legal Affairs Officer
Contact: 812-492-7504
Byron C. Wright Administration Building 102K

Contact Web Services


Send Email to