University of Southern Indiana

Leadership Conference-Virtual for 2021

Please consult to learn more and follow updates.

April 7, 2021

Presenting Strengths and Challenges of the Nursing Workforce:
Looking to the Future

The Nursing Leadership Conference will feature two keynotes, Peter Buerhaus, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAANP(h) in the morning and Karen Hill, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, FACHE, FAAN, in the afternoon. 

Dr. Buerhaus is a nurse and a healthcare economist who is well known for his studies on the nursing and physician workforces in the United States.  He has published nearly 140 peer-reviewed articles with five publications designated as “Classics” by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.  Dr. Buerhaus was appointed Chair of the National Health Care Workforce Commission that was created under the Affordable Care Act to advise Congress and the Administration on health workforce policy. Dr. Buerhaus currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Bozeman Deaconess Health System, is a Professor with the Montana State University (MSU) College of Nursing, serves as Director of the Center for Interdisciplinary Health Workforce Studies at MSU and is a member of the National Academies of Sciences National Academy of Medicine Committee on the Future of Nursing, 2020-2030. 

Dr. Hill is the Chief Operating Officer/Chief Nursing Officer with Baptist Health Lexington and the Editor-in-Chief of The Journal of Nursing Administration.  Dr. Hill developed a nationally recognized leadership development program resulting in retention and promotion of tenured staff.  Among her many achievements with Baptist Health Lexington, Dr. Hill successfully led the hospital through the journey to achieve and re-designate Magnet status, developed the shared governance structure and supported staff engagement in quality and scholarship resulting in over 50 peer reviewed publications with over half being staff nurse lead authors or co-authors.  Dr. Hill is an international speaker and author with over 70 published articles.  She has received many special awards and fellowships including the Martha Layne Collins Leadership Award, Women Leading Kentucky, Fellow with the American Academy of Nursing and recipient of the Scholarship Award for Nurse Executive, an AONE National Nurse Executive Award.

This conference is jointly provided with the Indiana Organization of Nurse Executives (IONE) and the University of Evansville.
This conference is partially made possible through a generous grant from the Indiana Organization of Nurse Executives License Plate Fund.

The learning outcome of this program is for attendees to implement effective management and leadership strategies in their healthcare practice and within their organization.

Program Agenda

Contact Hours: The University of Southern Indiana designates this activity for 6.25 contact hours.
CE hours will be available for Nurses, Physicians, Pharmacists, Social Workers, Psychologists, CHES, MCHES, and Health Facility Administrators.  CE hours will also be available for Indiana licensed Marriage & Family Therapists, Occupational Therapists, Occupational Therapist Assistants and Dental professions.

In support of improving patient care, University of Southern Indiana Center for Health Professions Lifelong Learning is jointly accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), the American Psychological Association (APA), and the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Approved Continuing Education (ACE) program to provide continuing education for the healthcare team.

This conference is jointly provided by the University of Southern Indiana, Indiana Organization of Nursing Leadership (IONL) and the University of Evansville.
This conference is partially made possible through a generous grant from the Indiana Organization of Nursing Leadership License Plate Fund.

Exhibitor Forms

Exhibitor link to pay online

Contact Kelley Collazo


Send Email to