Skip to content
Contact USI

The Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree is designed to prepare nurses who demonstrate advanced practice nursing skills, professional leadership, and foster a research climate in the practice of nursing. The BSN to DNP degree offers the Adult Geriatric Nurse Practitioner, acute (AGNP- Acute), Adult Geriatric Clinical Nurse Specialist (AG-CNS), Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP), Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP), and Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (AGPCNP) options.

The University of Southern Indiana Graduate Nursing Program is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE), 655 K Street, NW, Suite 750, Washington DC 2001, (202) 887-6791.  

The following faculty are responsible for the advanced practice nursing clinical courses. Each faculty is academically prepared and credentialed in the area they teach and meet requirements needed for graduate nursing programs to be nationally accredited. Further information about faculty or the program can be found on the Web site http://health.usi.edu or by calling 812-492-7819.

Clinical Forms can be found here.

Clinical Faculty Information

Mellisa Hall, DNP, RN, AGPCNP –BC, FNP-BC
Graduate Program Chair and Adult-Gero Primary Nurse Practitioner Program
mhall@usi.edu
812-465-1168

Ekta Rathee, DNP, RN, FNP-C
Family Nurse Practitioner Program
eerathee@usi.edu
812-492-7805

Lynne Melchior, MSN, RN, APRN-BC
Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Program
lmmelchior@usi.edu
812-465-1070

Katherine Riedford RN PhD, PMHNP-BC
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Program
kmriedford@usi.edu
812 461-5369

M. Jane Swartz, RN, DNP, CNS-BC
Clinical Nurse Specialist
mswartz3@usi.edu
812-465-1162

Amy Thornton, DNP, ACNP-BC
Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Program
amthornton1@usi.edu

Michelle Wakefield, MSN, FNP-C
Nurse Practitioner Programs
mjwakefiel@usi.edu