University of Southern Indiana


A Student Journal of Arts and Letters

FishHook is the University of Southern Indiana's student-run art and literary journal, showcasing the top poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and visual art of USI students. 

2018-2019 Editorial Staff 

Editor-in-Chief: Samuel Herdegen

Editorial Staff: Brandon Carrington (Poetry, Fiction, & Nonfiction), Sara Deal (Poetry, Fiction, & Nonfiction),  Alleigh Dillman (Poetry & Layout), Sophia Gill (Fiction & Nonfiction), Kennedy Salts (Poetry & Layout)

Submission Information

Submissions have closed for FishHook volume 9. Submissions should be sent to FishHook.  Written submissions should be submitted as Microsoft Word files, and images should be sent as 300 dpi .tiff or .jpeg attachments.

Submissions should include name, address, telephone number, and a Contributor Release Form.

Artists whose submission bears the image of a real living person are required to have their models complete and sign the Model Release Form prior to acceptance of their work.  Please ask your model to visit this site, print out the form, and mail it to the address on the form.

Be an editor

FishHook editors review poetry, fiction, non-fiction, and art submissions to filter what goes into the publication. The only requirement for FishHook editors is the successful completion of ENG 101.  Download and complete the application at the link to the right, or pick up an application outside the FishHook office, OC 3029. Submit your application at the office or email it to FishHook.

Past issues

FishHook Volume 8, Fall 2018

Cicada Study #3 by Katy Whitehouse

Cover art: Cicada Study #3 by Katy Whitehouse.

Editor-in-Chief: Kandis Robinson

Assistant Editor: Kyle Ellis

Publication Editor: Jacque Baysinger

Fiction Editors: Kayla Wire, Megan Miller, & Paige Dodson

Poetry Editor: Samuel Morris

Non-Fiction Editor: Vanessa Roach

Art Editor: Bea Zamora

Poetry by Ashley Allen, Bryan Brickey, Jacquelynn Epley, Kimberly Hite, Amber Lamey, Julie Landsdell, Courtney Marshall, Molly Mattingly, Sam Snedley, Taylor O'Neil Hall, Sarah Parker, & Ellana Winfield. Fiction by Baylee Flittner, Dana Hovis, Sam Smedley, Ellana Winfield, & Kayla Wire. Non-Fiction by Grace Jolley, Evan Glowner, & Samantha Smedley. Art by Livia Alexander, Tanna Small, Tylar Dean, Christina Earle, Evan Kisner, Kate Ryder, Levi Shulz, Kyleigh Shearin, Brian Simpson, Logan Tharp, Katy Whitehouse, Calvin Williams, & Curstain Yarber.

Faculty Advisor: Anthony Rintala.

Facebook - Wide


Contact Anthony Rintala


Send Email to