Skip to content
Contact USI

Mary C. Mohr Awards

Regretfully, the Mary C. Mohr Awards have been suspended for 2020 & 2021 due to the University’s ongoing response to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

2019 Results

Nickolas Butler selected Lara Palmqvist’s “Corpse Flower” as the fiction winner.

José Olivarez selected Em Dial's “& the white girl tells me i need to marry a Latino man so that my kids can be the world” as the poetry winner.

Sarah Perry selected Courtney Kersten’s “The Ergonomics of Loss” as the nonfiction winner.

Michael Waters Poetry Prize

A prize of $5,000 and publication by SIR Press is awarded annually for a collection of poetry written in English. All entries are considered for publication.

Next deadline: February 1, 2023.

Michael Waters selected Chelsea Woodard's At the Lepidopterists House for the 2022 Prize.