University of Southern Indiana

Awards & Contests

Patricia Aakhus Award

Selected by SIR editors and the USI Department of English, this award goes to the best work across all genres appearing in a given year.  

The 2018 Award was given to Raye Hendrix.

Mary C. Mohr Awards

Every year, SIR awards three prizes of $2,000 and publication for works of poetry, creative nonfiction, and fiction. All entries are considered for publication. 

Next deadline: October 1, 2019.

Nickolas Butler will select the fiction winner.

José Olivarez will select the poetry winner.

Sarah Perry will select the nonfiction winner.

Michael Waters Poetry Prize

A prize of $4,000 and publication by SIR Press is awarded annually for a collection of poetry written in English. All entries are considered for publication.

Next deadline: February 3, 2020.

Michael Waters selected Julia Koets's Pine for the 2019 Prize. 

Thomas A. Wilhelmus Short Prose Award

SIR editors selected J. A. Bernstein's Desert Castles for the 2017 Award. 

Contact Web Services


Send Email to