University of Southern Indiana

2019 Mary C. Mohr Awards

Submission Guidelines

Southern Indiana Review will award three prizes of $2000 each and publication in SIR for works of creative nonfiction (personal or scholarly); fiction (flash fiction, short story, novella, or stand-alone novel excerpt); or poetry written in English submitted under the following guidelines.

Download Printable Guidelines >>

Click here to upload your entry >>

Each submission must:

  • Be available for exclusive publication in Vol. 27, No. 1 of SIR. Simultaneous submissions are acceptable, but if the entry is published/accepted by another publication while under consideration, the author must promptly notify SIR in writing to withdraw the entry. 
  • Include an entry fee of $20 (plus Submittable processing fee, if uploaded electronically) for each contest entry. This non-refundable fee includes a year's subscription to SIR for each entry. Make check or money order payable to Southern Indiana Review. Please do not send cash.
  • List the author’s name, street address, email address (if applicable), phone number, and title of submission on a cover page. Cover pages do not count towards page limit.
  • List only the title of submission on each page thereafter.
  • For creative nonfiction submissions: Be fewer than thirty typed pages (12-point font) per each individual submission.
  • For fiction submissions: Be fewer than thirty typed pages (12-point font) per each individual submission.
  • For poetry submissions: Consist of no more than four poems (with an additional limit of ten total pages in 12-point font, no more than one poem per page) per each individual submission.
  • Be addressed to Southern Indiana Review, Mary C. Mohr Award, University of Southern Indiana, 8600 University Boulevard, Evansville, IN, 47712.
  • Be postmarked or electronically uploaded by October 1, 2019.
  • Include SAS postcard for receipt acknowledgement and/or SASE for contest results. All manuscripts will be recycled. Results will be posted on the SIR web site.
  • Current and former students of Nickolas Butler, José Olivarez, and Sarah Perry (excluding conference/short-term workshops) are not eligible for the (corresponding genre) Award.
  • Current and former students and employees of the University of Southern Indiana are not eligible for the Award.
  • Previous winners of the Mary C. Mohr Award are not eligible for the (corresponding genre) Award.

All contest submissions will be considered for publication. All themes and/or subject matters are eligible. Handwritten submissions will not be accepted. All rights revert to the writer upon publication.  If the announced genre judge is unable to reach a decision, SIR editors will select the winner.

Contact Web Services


Send Email to