University of Southern Indiana

Meet the Team

Angie Morris PicThe Indiana SANE Training Project is coordinated by Angie Morris, BSN, RN, SANE-A, SANE-P, EMT. She came to the discipline of forensic nursing in 2014. She earned a bachelor’s degree in Social & Behavioral Science with minors in Sociology and Criminal Justice from Indiana University and a bachelor of science in nursing from Marian University, where she graduated with honors.

Prior to becoming a nurse, Angie worked for nearly 13 years in various roles within the criminal justice and legal field and served as a program director for the State of Indiana. Angie has experience as a forensic nurse examiner in the Emergency Department of a metropolitan level one trauma center, providing services to both adult and pediatric patients. Angie has served as a forensic nurse on hundreds of cases, provided expert and witness testimony in courtrooms, educated and precepted new forensic nurses and secured hundreds of thousands of dollars in grant awards to aid victims of sexual assault. 

Angie is a member of the Emergency Nurses Association, Sigma Theta Tau Honor Society of Nursing, and the Academy of Forensic Nursing. She has served as the Forensic Committee Chair for the Indiana Emergency Nurses Association since 2017.

Project Advisory Council

Cara Berg, Indiana Coalition to End Sexual Assault

Kerri Blessinger, Vanderburgh County Sheriff's Office

Kristie Byrns, Albion Fellows Bacon Center

Jessica Cannon, Deaconess Health – Project SANE Consultant

Penny Culp, Indiana Emergency Nurses Association

Jane  Friona, SWI-AHEC – Project Principal Investigator

Sarah Goletz, Indiana AHEC Network – Project Evaluation Consultant

Leslie James-Wilhite, Albion Fellows Bacon Center

Don Kelso, Indiana Rural Health Association

Tracey Kruger, Indiana Coalition to End Sexual Assault

Susan Laine, Indiana State Police Crime Lab

Elizabeth Learned, Indiana Department of Child Services

Terri Lee, Indiana State Department of Health

Jackie Mathis, Indiana AHEC Network

Ashli Smiley, Indiana State Department of Health

David Smith, Indianapolis Marion County Forensic Services Agency  

Shaunestte Terrell, Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council

Madeline Wilson, Indiana Hospital Association



Contact Web Services


Send Email to