USI Athletics
Image of a basketball player making a layup
Meet the Team
2008-09 Media Guide
Game Notes
Season Outlook
Quick Facts
Recent Releases
Camp Information
Prospective Student Athletes
Coaches & Staff
Varsity Club
Men's Basketball Home
Athletics Home
Men's Basketball

March 05, 2009

Three Eagles honored by GLVC
Smith named first team All-GLVC

GLVC Release


EVANSVILLE, Ind. The University of Southern Indiana men's basketball team had three players honored with GLVC post-season awards at the pre-tournament reception Thursday night. USI junior guard Jamar Smith (Peoria, Illinois) was named to the All-GLVC first team, while senior forward Anthony Pimble (Bronx, New York) and junior forward Brandon Russ (Cincinnati, Ohio) were named to the second and third teams, respectively.

Smith leads the Screaming Eagles with 18.6 points per game and is averaging a GLVC-best 4.0 three-point field goals per game and 54.1 percentage (68-126) from long range in league games. The junior guard has been dominating the last six games, averaging 23.2 points per game including a pair of 29-point efforts and one 28-point outing.


The sharp-shooter also has eight games in which he has hit five-or-more three-point field goals.

The dynamic Pimble ranks third on the USI squad with 12.5 points per game and had a career-high 25 points in the double-overtime win over Rockhurst University earlier this season. He also ranks third in the conference in steals and fourth in field goal percentage.


Russ is one of the nation's top shooters, leading the GLVC and ranking fifth in Division II with a 68.2 field goal percentage (150-220). He is second on the team with 13.1 points per outing, including a season-best 26 against Missouri Baptist University.

The GLVC head coaches voted Rockhurst's junior guard Aaron Hill as the Player of the Year, while the Hawk's Bill O'Connor was named the Coach of the Year. Bellarmine University guard Braydon Hobbs was the Freshman of the Year.

The GLVC Tournament opens Friday with games at noon, 2:30 p.m., 6 p.m., and 8:30 p.m. USI will play Lewis University, which will feature first team senior guard Brandon Dagans and third team senior forward Jason Geneva, in the 6 p.m. contest.

GLVC PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Aaron Hill, Rockhurst, Jr.,Guard
GLVC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Braydon Hobbs, Bellarmine, Fr., Guard
GLVC COACH OF THE YEAR: Bill O'Connor, Rockhurst

First Team
Brandon Dagans, Sr., Lewis
LaVontay Fenderson, Sr., UW-Parkside
Chartrael Hall, Sr., Bellarmine
Aaron Hill, Jr., Rockhurst
Jamar Smith, Jr., Southern Indiana

Second Team
Chris Ijames, Sr., Drury
Dustin Maguire, So.,Northern Kentucky
Leslie Malone, Sr., Northern Kentucky
Anthony Pimble, Sr., Southern Indiana
T.J. Smith, Sr., Kentucky Wesleyan

Third Team
Billy Baptist, Jr., Quincy
Justin Brock, So., Quincy
Phillip Collins, Fr., Saint Joseph's
Jason Genova, Sr., Lewis
Braydon Hobbs, Fr., Bellarmine
Brandon Mayse, Sr., Saint Joseph's
Keith Radcliff, Sr., Indianapolis
Brandon Russ, Jr., Southern Indiana
Alden Smith, Sr., Rockhurst
DeAaron Williams, Sr., Northern Kentucky

Ray Simmons, USI Sports Information

8600 University Boulevard - Evansville, Indiana 47712-3596 812/464-8600

Academics | Prospective Student | Current Student | Athletics
Visitors | Events and News | Administration

Copyright © 2019 University of Southern Indiana All rights reserved.

Head Coach


Radio Links

WYFX 106.7FM

Other Links

Map to GLVC
NCAA Division II
NCAA Stats
NCAA Championships
National Rankings
Regional Rankings
Anthony Travel