Skip to content
Contact USI

Holcomb appoints two USI Trustees to Board, USI student named to Commission

June 27, 2024

Governor Eric Holcomb has appointed two new members to the University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees for four-year terms through June 30, 2028. The new Trustees are Tim Hollander and Wayne Kinney, both of Evansville. Holcomb also appointed Samantha Fleischaker ‘26, a USI political science and philosophy major, to a two-year term as the Student Member of the Indiana Commission for Higher Education.  

Tim Hollander  

Hollander serves as President of Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Indiana, Inc., (TMMI) where he leads all production and administrative functions at the manufacturing facility in Princeton, Indiana. 

Previously, Hollander served as Vice President of Manufacturing at TMMI and was responsible for all production, plant engineering, Toyota Production System (TPS) and maintenance operations.  

During his tenure with Toyota, he has held positions of increasing responsibility including General Manager of Administration at Toyota Motor Manufacturing West Virginia, Inc., and General Manager of Human Resources and Safety at TMMI. Hollander joined Toyota in 1998 as a Production Control Specialist.  

Additionally, Hollander serves on several boards, including Indiana Manufacturers Association, Evansville Regional Economic Partnership, Evansville Regional Business Council, Southwest Indiana Regional Development Authority and the advisory council of Youth First.  

Hollander holds a bachelor’s degree in business from Indiana State University and a master’s degree in strategic leadership from the University of Charleston. He is a native of Evansville where he resides with his wife and two children.  

Wayne Kinney 

USI alumnus Wayne Kinney is the owner of JWK Management Group in Evansville. From 2002-23, he founded and served as CEO of Innovative Consulting Group, based in Evansville, and focused on flexible healthcare IT services. The company was recapitalized in 2023, and Kinney now serves on the Board. He previously served as Vice President of Information Services and Chief Information Officer at Ascension Health from 1987-2002.  

Kinney serves on the board of Liberty Federal Credit Union as the Chairperson. He is a member of the USI Foundation Board of Directors. He has served on The Easter Seals Rehabilitation Board, Evansville Park and Recreation Board, Vanderburgh County Redevelopment Corporation and the Blue Grass Church Long Range Planning Committee. 

Kinney is a 1977 graduate of USI with a bachelor’s degree in accounting. He holds an MBA from the University of Evansville. He obtained an Executive MBA from the Wharton School of Business. He and his wife Beth currently reside in Evansville with their two children and four grandchildren. 

The USI Board of Trustees has nine trustees and must include one alumni of the University, one current student and one resident of Vanderburgh County. Trustee terms are for four years, except for the student term, which is two years.  

Samantha Fleischaker  

Samantha Fleischaker, USI Class of 2026, has been selected as the Student Member of the Indiana Commission of Higher Education and will serve a two-year term through June 30, 2026. She is the first Student Member of the Commission from USI since 2002. 

A native of Celestine, Indiana, and graduate of Jasper High School, Fleischaker is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in political science and philosophy and holds a 3.9 cumulative GPA. She is the President of the Political Science Society and serves on the Student Government Executive Board as Attorney General. She is also involved in numerous organizations including Campus Outreach USI, Pi Sigma Alpha and the Asian Student Union.  

As the new Student Member of the Commission, Fleischaker is passionate about providing accessible resources to all students interested in higher education. She brings a unique perspective to the Commission as a Frank O’Bannon Grant recipient and strives to give back to higher education by providing those same opportunities to other students.   

The student member of the Indiana Commission for Higher Education is responsible to convene with and serve as a full voting member of the Commission. The student member serves on the Student Success and Completion Committee and is responsible for participating in monthly meetings in correlation with regular Commission meetings.  

Recent Stories