University of Southern Indiana


Founding Editors

Matthew GrahamMatthew Graham is the author of three books of poetry, World Without End, New World Architecture, and 1946, and is the recipient of a number of awards and fellowships from The Academy of American Poets, the Indiana Arts Commission, and the Vermont Studio Center. He teaches creative writing at the University of Southern Indiana.

Tom WilhelmusTom Wilhelmus is professor emeritus of English at the University of Southern Indiana. His reviews of contemporary fiction appear frequently in The Hudson Review.


Ron MitchellFormerly muscle for the IRS, Ron Mitchell is the co-founder and former editor of RopeWalk Press. He teaches composition, creative writing, and literary editing & publishing at the University of Southern Indiana.

Drama Editor 

Alice Shen Alice Shen teaches playwriting, theatre history, and English composition at USI. She received her MFA from Virginia Tech and her BA from James Madison University. Her full-length play, Entitled, won the Southeastern Theatre Conference’s Charles M. Getchell New Play Award in 2010.

Fiction Editor 

Casey PyciorCasey Pycior's debut short story collection, The Spoils, was published by Switchgrass Books in 2017. He was awarded the 2015 Charles Johnson Fiction Prize at Crab Orchard Review, and his work has appeared in Beloit Fiction Journal, Midwestern Gothic, Harpur Palate, BULL, Wigleaf, and Yalobusha Review, among many other places. He holds an MFA in fiction writing from Wichita State University and a PhD in creative writing from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Pycior joined the English Department at USI this fall.

Managing Editor 

Megan MillerMegan Miller is an English major with an emphasis in literature and a minor in arts and heritage administration. She works as a writing tutor and copy edits for the campus newspaper. In the past, she has interned with a small museum collection editing its database. On weekends, she drives way too far to teach high school color guard.

Media Editor

Anthony RintalaAnthony Rintala trained as a poet at the University of Southern Mississippi and Louisiana State University. He has edited for Callaloo, New Delta Review, New Tex[t], and Blinn Literary Journal. His own poetry has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize, and he is the faculty advisor for the University of Southern Indiana's student literary journal, FishHook.

Poetry Editors

Emily Skaja is from northern Illinois. Her poems have been published in Best New Poets 2015, Blackbird, Black Warrior Review, Gulf Coast, jubilat, and other journals. She was the winner of The Russell Prize for emerging poets, an AWP Intro Award, an Academy of American Poets college prize, and the 2015 Gulf Coast Poetry Prize. Emily holds degrees in Poetry from Millikin University (BA), Temple University (MA), and Purdue University (MFA), and she is currently a PhD student at the University of Cincinnati. She lives in Ohio. 

Marcus WickerMarcus Wicker is the recipient of a Ruth Lilly Fellowship from the Poetry Foundation, a Pushcart Prize, The Missouri Review's Miller Audio Prize, as well as fellowships from Cave Canem and the Fine Arts Work Center. His first collection Maybe the Saddest Thing, a National Poetry Series winner, was a finalist for an NAACP Image Award. Wicker's poems have appeared in The Nation, Poetry, American Poetry Review, Oxford American, and Boston Review. His second book, Silencer, is just out from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Wicker teaches in the MFA program at the University of Memphis.

Reviews Editor 

Amie Whittemore
is the author of the poetry collection Glass Harvest (Autumn House Press). Her poems have won multiple awards, including a Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Prize, and her poems and prose have appeared in The Gettysburg Review, Nashville Review, Smartish Pace, Pleiades, and elsewhere. She teaches English at Middle Tennessee State University.

Associate Editors 

Leisa BelleauLeisa Belleau teaches courses in humanities, literature, and creative writing at the University of Southern Indiana. As a Southern Illinois University graduate student, her work was nominated for the AWP Intro Award for Fiction, and she continues to publish fiction, nonfiction, and poetry.

Brittney Scott’s first poetry collection, The Derelict Daughter, won the 2015 New American Poetry Prize. She is also a recipient of the Joy Harjo Prize for Poetry, as well as the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Prize. Her poems have appeared in Best New Poets 2014, Prairie Schooner, The New Republic, Narrative Magazine, Cincinnati Review, Alaska Quarterly Review, Linebreak, Indiana Review and elsewhere. She homesteads on seven acres in rural Virginia. 

Contributing Editors 

Ruth Awad is a Lebanese-American poet and the recipient of the 2018 Ohioana Book Award for Poetry, a 2016 Ohio Arts Council Individual Excellence Award, the 2012 and 2013 Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Prize, and the 2011 Copper Nickel Poetry Prize. Her work has appeared in The New Republic, The Missouri Review, CALYX, Nashville Review, The Adroit Journal, and elsewhere. Awad has an MFA in poetry from Southern Illinois University Carbondale, and she lives in Columbus, Ohio.

Matthew GuenetteMatthew Guenette is the author of American Busboy (Akron Series in Poetry) and Sudden Anthem, winner of the 2007 American Poetry Journal Book Prize from Dream Horse Press. His poems have appeared in Another Chicago Magazine, DIAGRAMThe Greensboro ReviewIndiana ReviewThe Spoon River Poetry ReviewThe National Poetry Review, and other publications.

Mihaela MoscaliucMihaela Moscaliuc's first poetry collection, Father Dirt, was published by Alice James Books in 2010. Her poems, translations, reviews, and articles have appeared in The Georgia ReviewNew LettersPrairie SchoonerPoetry InternationalPleiadesArts & LettersConnecticut ReviewMississippi Review, and elsewhere. Moscaliuc teaches at Monmouth University and in the MFA Program in Poetry and Poetry in Translation at Drew University.

Rebecca HazeltonRebecca Hazelton has been published in Agni, The Southern Review, and The Gettysburg Review; featured on Verse Daily and Ink Node; and included in Best New Poets 2011. She was the 2010-2011 Jay C. and Ruth Hall Poetry Fellow at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Creative Writing Institute. Her book first book, Fair Copy, won The Ohio State Press/The Journal poetry award in 2011, and her second book, Vow, is from Cleveland State Press. In 2012, she won The Discovery/Boston Review Prize.

Contact Web Services


Send Email to