Skip to content
Contact USI

USI is committed to promoting integrity in the scholarly endeavors of our faculty, students, and professional staff involved in the pursuit of scientific inquiry and practice. The Office of Sponsored Projects and Research (OSPR) is responsible for encouraging all scholarly efforts while preserving compliance with both ethical and regulated matters.

While responsible and ethical research behavior is generally self-regulated based on shared ethical principles and generally accepted practices, the proposed federal requirement for Responsible Conduct of Research (RCR) training for PHS-funded researchers and national attention to highly publicized cases of professional misconduct has elevated the importance of RCR education. To help promote quality research at USI, OSPR is maintaining this site dedicated to RCR training and education.

RCR Workshops   RCR By Laws  Research Policies

Responsible Conduct of Research training covers a variety of content areas, including:

  • conflict of interest – personal professional, and financial
  • policies regarding human subjects, live vertebrate animal subjects in research, and safe laboratory practices
  • mentor/mentee responsibilities and relationships
  • collaborative research including collaborations with industry
  • peer review
  • data acquisition and laboratory tools; management, sharing and ownership
  • research misconduct and policies for handling misconduct
  • responsible authorship and publication
  • the scientist as a responsible member of society, contemporary ethical issues in biomedical research, and the environmental and societal impacts of scientific research
  • whistleblowing

RCR Committee



Dr. Priya Hewavitharanage, Professor of Chemistry


Dr. Alex Champagne, Associate Professor of Biology

Dr. Urska Dobersek, Associate Professor of Psychology

Dr. Curt Gilstrap, Associate Professor of Business Communication

Dr. Nick LaRowe, Associate Professor of Political Science 

Dr. Lori Phillips, Assistant Professor of Nursing 

Dr. Mikel Hand, Professor of Nursing 

Ms. Kate Sherrill, Instructional Services Librarian

Ex-Officio Members:

Rebecca Deeg, MPA, Senior Grant Administrator, OSPR

Institutional Official:

Dr. Amy Chan Hilton, Interim Authorizing Official