Skip to content
Contact USI

Omicron Psi Chapter - Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society

The International Honor Society for Nursing – Sigma Theta Tau (Sigma) – extends membership to students in baccalaureate or graduate level programs who have demonstrated superior academic achievement, academic integrity and professional leadership potential, and to nurse leader candidates exhibiting exceptional achievements in nursing.

The International Honor Society for Nursing – Sigma Theta Tau (Sigma) – held an induction ceremony March 20, 2023, in Carter Hall for the newest members. The USI Omicron Psi chapter of Sigma congratulated new members with certificates and the prestigious Purple Honor Cord. Sigma members, nursing faculty, community leaders, family and friends gathered to honor the inductees and to hear the mission of Sigma, which is developing nurse leaders anywhere to improve healthcare everywhere. 

Cathy Murphy, Deaconess nurse leader and president of the Omicron Psi Chapter, led the inductees in the Sigma Pledge to fulfill the commitment to nursing excellence, knowledge, service and leadership throughout their careers.

Liam Collins, BSN senior nursing student and Sigma member, placed honorary Sigma Cords on the inductees. 

Guest speaker Jordan Morrison, a USI Nursing graduate, Sigma member and nurse leader, encouraged inductees to be passionate about their career and to not worry if their path is not completely decided. 

Those inducted into Sigma include: Cathy Ashton, Gail Bailey, Mackenzie Bedrick, Jordyn Beshears, Julie Brady, Jeanne Braun, Sarah Bussinger, Abigail Childs, Jaime Clark, Madison Cozart, Lily Dahl, Katherine de Vries, Claire Dunning, Kris Feller, Kelly Friday, Courtney Giannosa, Shane Hamby, Alicia Helgeson, Sofia Hernandez, Heather Houck, Jessica Jenkins, Cherri Johnson, Keli Jones, Hailey Kessler, Meagan Knepp, Brandie Kopsas-Kingsley, Nyah Laino, Matthew Luecke, Rachel Martinez, Bethany Masariego Sifontes, Jessica McClung, Breann Mehringer, Amanda Miley, Danielle Nemenz, Morgan Palstring, Vy Pham, Jayne Rudisel, Micah Schmitt, Alesia Seabrook-Comfort, Brooke Shafer, Ashton Stine, Kourtnie Vibrandt, Jennifer Williamson and Rylee Woodrow.

Purposes of the Honor Society:

  • Recognize superior achievement.
  • Recognize the development of leadership qualities.
  • Foster high professional standards.
  • Encourage creative work.
  • Strengthen commitment to the ideas and purposes of the profession.

Learn more at


2023 Induction Ceremony