Skip to content
Contact USI
Indiana State Nurses Association Recognizes Indiana’s Top Nurses through Pillar Award Recognition

Pillar of Leadership: Dr. Ann White, RN, PhD, MBA, NE-BC

Dr. White has been a visionary dean. She monitored upcoming trends in nursing education and initiated preemptive curricular changes, which established our program as an early adopter and a role model for curriculum initiatives such as QSEN, simulation, population health, interprofessional education, and dedicated education units. As a testament to her excellent leadership, our program has maintained the best NCLEX pass rate in the state for a decade, frequently rating 100%.

Dr. White’s visionary leadership is also evident in the programs she launched through the pursuance of over $37,000,000 in grants (including 13 HRSA grants). These innovative programs brought much-needed services to our mostly rural area of the state and helped to educate our students on the value of access to care. These programs include integration of the Primary Care Behavioral Health Care Model and implementation of a Family Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Specialty, Geriatrics Workforce Enhancement Program, Nurse Practitioner Residency Program, Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner program, and three nurse-managed clinics, as well as NP placement in Correctional Facilities.

Furthermore, Dr. White’s support of innovation led to our college receiving the first Nexus Award from the National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education. Her sphere of influence swells beyond her role as Dean. Perhaps her most visionary endeavor was that she recognized an opportunity to combine the resources and expertise of practice and academia to create a regional healthcare research consortium. Dr. White is a well deserving Indiana nurse leader for the ISNA Pillar of Leadership Award.

Honorable Pillar Nominees: Cynthia Degoey, LPN; Susan Seibert, DNP, RN, CNE; Brian Arwood, MSN, RN, CNE, PMH-BC, MEDSURG-BC

Please join us in congratulating these amazing nurses for their contributions and accomplishments in supporting the Indiana nursing workforce and the care received by Hoosiers.

Reprinted from the ISNA Bulletin